JPgomi

Trash Picking For A Foreign Language!

Disc Golf In Japan and Philly

Leave a comment

I have a lot of interests.  I have interest ADD.  I’m cursed by wanting to consume and be involved in almost every single thing that humanity has been able to dream up or learn.  Except ribbon dancing, don’t ask, I had a bad experience once.  But other than that you name it and I’ll take a crack at it, or at least read a few articles and books about it.  I always cover the basses just in case my life ever depends on knowing the Latin origin of the word lucubration, or that the green tea in sushi shops is called 粉茶 (konacha- literally powdered tea), or that salt water crocodiles have a bite force of 3,700 psi.  You just never know, so I play it safe.  My newest interest, and I’m truly smitten, is Disc Golf.  For those who aren’t familiar with Disc Golf, “go Google it, what the hell do I look like.”  Sorry about that.  For those who aren’t familiar with Disc Golf I’ll give a brief explanation.

 

 

My brief explanation – “Its golf with a Frisbee instead of a ball and clubs, it is awesome.”

 

If you need a more proper explanation you can go here. (http://www.pdga.com/introduction)

 

 

Disc Golf in Philadelphia
My Awakening:

I was first introduced to the brilliance of Disc Golf on a sunny afternoon in early September.  My cousin and I have been going to Tyler State park for years and he always raved about this strange game called Disc Golf.  It wasn’t until this year that I got my first taste of the game.  Although at first it looks, sounds, and pretty much is a hippie-tree-hugging-granola-munching-activity, it’s as addicting and fun as “insert abusive substance.”  In actuality Disc Golf is for anyone who loves a challenging game and being in “The Great Out Doors.”  Depending on where you play you’ll experience a mix of woodsy forest and open fields.  Some places are simply normal golf courses re-purposed with Disc Golf holes.  However, in my opinion the best courses are those that utilize the parks natural elements to make a unique and challenging Disc Golf experience.

No matter where you play you’ll surely notice the price, or lack there of, of Disc Golf.  Most courses are free or take $1 donation.  Other than the original investment in a $10-$15 disc there are pretty much zero costs involved with the game.  Unless your like me and bring a schoolbag filled with a WaWa’s worth of snacks.  Yayy trail-mix, Yayy pumpkin seeds.

Currently I’ve only had a chance to play the 27 hole Tyler State Park Disc Golf Course. Luckily for those in the area this course is nationally recognized as one of the best in the country.(Directions below.)  For those closer to the city there is another course located in East Fairmount Park.  “The 27 hole Sedgley Woods Disc Golf Course, established in 1977, is the second oldest disc golf course in the Country. It resides in East Fairmount Park at 33rd and Oxford Streets.  Doubles league are held every Thursday year-round. Sedgley Woods is open to the public and there are no fees.” (taken from Fairmount park website)

 

Disc Golf in Japan

 

So were does Japan come in?  Well anytime I get one of these new hobbies/interests I immediately see if it has an existence in good old Japan.  Thanks to the internet, it pretty much always does.  One reason I do this is it allows me to read, watch, and learn about this new interest in Japanese.  Always a plus when trying to improve the nonnative tongue.   Another reason is it’s a great way to meet people and build cultural connections through a shared interest.  As I’m fairly new to Disc Golf I haven’t had a chance to spread the love.  However, maybe this post will do the trick.

 

From my research I’ve found that these are some of the major courses in the Greater Tokyo area.  However, there are courses located through out Japan.(see links at end of post)

 

Showa Kinen Disc Golf Hole #2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In addition there is an international tournament held at Nasu Highlands, Tochigi called the Japan Open.

 

Some Videos of the Japan Open:

 

 

 

Innova Katana Disc

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Needless to say I’d like to play in the Japan Open but I think you have to be ranked and good at Disc Golf to be invited.  Having only played a handful of times I don’t think I’m going to make the cut.  But either way I can still enjoy the game and spread its awesomeness.  Plus now I have one more interest I can share with people from around the world.  Yayy ribbon dancing.! Woops did I say that out loud?  I meant Yayy Disc Golf!

 

 

Directions:

Tyler Course

I-95 to Exit 49, take Rte. 332 West (Newtown Bypass). At 3.2 miles it becomes Rte. 413 North, 1.7 miles more to park entrance on left. Turn in, follow road to stop sign, go right, then 1st left into parking lot. Course in woods on left. 100 Swamp Rd.

Sedgley Woods

I-95 to Exit 49, take Rte. 332 West (Newtown Bypass). At 3.2 miles it becomes Rte. 413 North, 1.7 miles more to park entrance on left. Turn in, follow road to stop sign, go right, then 1st left into parking lot. Course in woods on left. 100 Swamp Rd.

 

Fairmount Info

 

http://www.pdga.com/course_directory/course/sedgley-woods-east-fairmount-park

 

Tyler State Park Info

 

http://www.dcnr.state.pa.us/stateparks/findapark/tyler/

 

Info on Japan Courses
Comprehensive List of Courses in Japan
Leave a Reply

